MediumWebPublicationArtReviewDate02.April.2024AuthorWeb addresshttps://artreview.com/15th-gwangju-biennale-announces-theme-and-artists/

■ ArtReview Q

15th Gwangju Biennale announces theme and artists

ArtReview News 02 April 2024 artreview.com



Courtesy of the Gwangju Biennale Foundation

The 15th edition of Gwangju Biennale – led by <u>Nicolas Bourriaud</u> and slated to run from 7 September to 1 December 2024 – has announced the theme and list of participating artists. Titled *Pansori, a soundscape of the 21st century*, the exhibition takes its name from a genre of musical storytelling that emerged in seventeenth-century Korea and engages with the landscape of the contemporary world in which the spaces we inhabit are increasingly bordered and segregated. The Biennale interprets *pansori* – which literally means 'the noise from the public place' – as 'the voice of the subalterns' and will present works that 're-think the space shared between humans, machines, animals, spirits, and organic life'.

The complete list of participating artists are:

Saâdane Afif, Haseeb Ahmed, Deniz Aktaş, Noel W. Anderson, Andrius Arutiunian, Kevin Beasley, Wendimagegn Belete, Bianca Bondi, Dora Budor, Peter Buggenhout, Angela Bulloch, Alex Cerveny, Cheng Xinhao, Choi Haneyl, Gaëlle Choisne, Anna Conway, Binta Diaw, John Dowell, Hayden Dunham, Liam Gillick, Loris Gréaud, Matthias Groebel, Matthew Angelo Harrison, Marguerite Humeau, Agata Ingarden, Hye Joo Jun, Jun Hyoung San, Kim Hyeong Suk, Kim Jayi, Young Eun Kim, Dominique Knowles, Agnieszka Kurant, Hyewon Kwon, Netta Laufer, Brianna Leatherbury, Yein Lee, Oswaldo Maciá, Mira Mann, Cinthia Marcelle, Vladislav Markov, Beaux Mendes, Myriam Mihindou, Na Mira, Saadia Mirza, David Noonan, Katja Novitskova, Josèfa Ntjam, Emeka Ogboh, Frida Orupabo, Lydia Ourahmane, Mimi Park, Philippe Parreno, Amol K. Patil, Harrison Pearce, Lucy Raven, Tabita Rezaire, Marina Rheingantz, Marina Rosenfeld, Max Hooper Schneider, Franck Scurti, Soomin Shon, Jura Shust, Marianna Simnett, Sofya Skidan, Anastasia Sosunova, Jakob Kudsk Steensen, Sung Tieu, Julian Abraham "Togar", Unmake Lab, Yuyan Wang, Ambera Wellmann, Kandis Williams and Phillip Zach.